Intro

Guitar Tricks Review Screenshot of Member's AreaWondering about Guitar Tricks? Many guitarists ask us if the lessons, tools and forum are actually worth the subscription price.

“If you can watch videos of free guitar lessons, what’s the point of paying money?” Actually, if you’ve tried learning guitar on YouTube, you already know how hard it really is. The quality of instruction is usually very low, and they’re all trying to pitch their paid lessons anyway.

We have bought, tested and reviewed all the most popular guitar lessons online, so check out our detailed Guitar Tricks review below to see if it’s your best bet for learning guitar.

Disclosure: We are compensated by some guitar lessons creators when our readers buy their products through our unbiased guitar lesson reviews. This is what keeps this site 100% ad-free, so thank you for your support!


Video

Want a free glimpse of the members-only area? Watch our video Guitar Tricks review below:

Did the video make you think of a question or comment? We’d appreciate your feedback at the bottom of our review. If you like what you’re seeing so far, click here for a 14-day free trial, and let us know what you think!


Features

One of the biggest benefits to taking online guitar lessons is the rich feature set you’ll get with a membership compared to buying books or DVDs. GuitarTricks.com offers the following features to their members:

- Over 8,000 video guitar lessons
- 45 professional guitar teachers to learn from
- Core Learning System: Step by step beginner program with on-screen notation
- Online metronome and guitar tuner
- 500 song lessons and counting
- “Jam Station” with 150 backing tracks
- Personalized instruction (Track your progress and bookmark favorite lessons)
- Active community forum with over 200,000 posts
- “Ultimate Chord Finder” – online or downloadable software (PC only)
- “Ultimate Scale Finder” – online or downloadable software (PC only)
- Guitar technique reference library
- Video player with option to loop sections you want to focus on


Instructors

With 7 core professional instructors, and 38 other teachers, Guitar Tricks has 45 pros to learn from.

Skills and genres range from incredible soloists to singer/songwriters, and classical acoustic to classic rock, which means you’ll be able to find your favorite lessons easily.

Highlights: Lawrence Katz, the lead guitarist for the “Mighty Mighty Bosstones” and Lisa McCormick, a soothing teacher with a Masters in Education.


FAQ

Q: Can I try it out before I pay any money?

A: Yes. They have a free membership with limited features, or you can get the full effect with a 14-day free trial of a premium membership.

Q: What happens if I don’t like it after I sign up and pay for a membership?

A: They offer a 60-day money back guarantee, so you can email them to get a full refund.

Q: What is their pricing like?

A: Guitar Tricks charges $14.95/month, or you can pay $129/year to save $50.

Q: How many lessons can I take?

A: There are over 8,000 video lessons, with more added regularly, and you have unlimited access to all of them as a premium member.

Q: Do I need to install anything special to take lessons?

A: No. As long as you can watch YouTube videos, you have everything you need to watch lessons on GuitarTricks.com. However, if you want to download their software tools, you have to have a Windows computer (though these tools are online as well).

Q: Is Guitar Tricks better than private lessons?

A: That depends. Having so many instructors and such a huge library of video lessons to learn from can be much more convenient and useful. It’s tough to replace in-person live instruction, but it’s awesome being able to rewind the videos until you get them down, and it’s nice not having to drive to lessons.


Compare

Still curious about your other options? Compare  Guitar Tricks to other popular lessons:

Other guitar lessons you might be interested in:


Properties

Guitar Lessons
Overall Rating

Our custom rating considers all of the guitar lessons' features, tools, quality, support, and personal & user reviews to save you time!

96.8/100 Rating
Rating: 96.8%
Price

The current price of guitar lessons (not including any coupon codes, trials or discounts we find for you.)

$14.95/month
Cost/Lesson

Price divided by total lessons. Note: For online lessons, we use the annual membership price.

$0.02 / Lesson
Coupons

We are constantly on the lookout for the best deals on guitar lessons, and this is where we share them with you. :)

Free Trial (14 Days)
Guarantee

The guarantee tells you how long you can try these guitar lessons and get a full refund of your money if it doesn't work out.

60-Day, 100%
Money Back
Lesson Format

Since guitar lessons are offered in many different formats, we classify each one we review to distinguish between them quickly (online lessons are our favorite).

Online Videos
& Community
Delivery

Delivery refers to how you will receive your guitar lessons and how long it will take to get access and start learning guitar.

Instant (Online)
Visit Site

This button takes you to the official website to check out their guitar lessons and get started.

Beginner

Does this product/service offer beginner guitar lessons? This is the most common level, crucial for getting started at any age.

Intermediate

Do they also have lessons beyond the beginner level? Once you've mastered the basics, you'll want intermediate lessons.

Advanced

Some teachers even have lessons designed for advanced players that have moved through beginner and intermediate lessons.

Song Lessons

Want to learn popular songs on the guitar? Some instructors work hard to get license deals to teach you specific songs step-by-step.

Video Quality

If these lessons offer video instruction (and we hope they do), this gives an idea of how well-filmed the videos are.

Extremely High
Lesson Length

Most private guitar teachers do 30 minute blocks, but some topics don't require that much time. This shows the range and average.

10-75 minutes
Total Lessons

Some courses out there have less than 50 lessons, which isn't much to build on. Look for at least 100 lessons, preferably over 1,000.

8,000 Lessons
1,000+ Hours
Instructors

One benefit of Online and DVD lessons is the ability to learn from multiple instructors with different backgrounds, genres and skills.

45 Teachers
Lesson Quality

Our personal rating for how well-made, organized and helpful these guitar lessons are overall.

97.9/100 Rating
Lesson Quality: 97.9%
Value for Price

Value for price is our way of comparing lesson quality, features, tools and support with the cost of these guitar lessons.

99.3/100 Rating
Value for Price: 99.3%
Ease of Use

How easy does the creator make their guitar lessons to use? Are the videos easy to follow? Are the tools helpful or too complex?

96.8/100 Rating
Ease of Use: 96.8%
Support

Support refers to how much help you will actually receive as a customer. Will the teacher(s) and students answer your questions?

96.7/100 Rating
Support: 96.7%
Lesson Variety

Variety is the spice of life. Don't get dragged into boring lessons that all follow the same formula. More lesson variety = more fun.

99.6/100 Rating
Lesson Variety: 99.6%
Entertainment

We personally evaluate each lesson for many logical ratings, but it's also important that you'll be entertained while learning.

98.7/100 Rating
Entertainment: 98.7%
Tuner

Will buying these lessons give you access to a free guitar tuner?

Chord Library

Chords are the building blocks of all guitar playing. Having a chord library where you can easily look up specific chords is essential.

Scale Library

Scales are great exercises and can expand your soloing horizons. Scale libraries organize them by key and style to save you time.

Guitar Tabs

Tabs are a great way to learn to play songs with notation that's easy to understand. Tabs + Video song lessons is your best bet.

Jam Tracks

Jamming is the one of the coolest things to do when you learn guitar, and jam tracks are the perfect way to practice first.

Live Lessons

The most efficient way to learn guitar is in-person live lessons. Some premium services offer live lessons through webcam & chat.

Forum

Forums are a great resource to get answers to your questions from instructors and other students quickly and easily.

Live Chat

Though getting answers on a forum can be really helpful, sometimes you need an answer in real-time, so chat is even better.

Printable

Every once in a while, it can be great to have print-friendly lessons when you need some material on a page in front of you.

Downloadable

Online lessons will sometimes give the option to download supplemental material for later.

Best Deal

We do not sell guitar lessons; we are a free guitar lessons review service. This link goes to Guitar Tricks

Full Review

Summary
Rating: 96.8/100. With 8,000+ video guitar lessons, a solid toolset, and 45 teachers, Guitar Tricks is definitely worth trying out. Tip: They offer a 2-week trial, so if you decide you don’t want to pay after your trial, it’s easy to cancel.

Pros:
- Over 8,000 online lessons in archive
- 500+ song lessons from artists like Jimi Hendrix, The Beatles, Boston & Pearl Jam
- 45 professional teachers
- HD videos with 3 camera angles and notation
- Chord and scale libraries
- Jam Track software included
- Wide variety of genres taught
- Intermediate lessons: Skills & Techniques
- Active forum with students and instructors
- Most affordable guitar lessons online

Cons:
- Computer and Internet connection required
- Paid subscription only for premium content
- Mostly focused on beginner-level lessons
- Somewhat cluttered interface (see screenshots below)

Introduction

Way back in 1998, long before the days of YouTube (remember that?), a guitarist named Jon Broderick decided to make a website to help others learn to play guitar online.

This was a revolutionary thing at the time, and while many others have followed suit, you could say GuitarTricks.com is sort of the grandfather of them all.

After signing up and trying it out, we feel $14.95/month is a great price for what you get. There’s a ton of content included for that price, and the trial and 60 days to decide if you want your money back make it worth a shot.

Alright, let’s get into our full Guitar Tricks review…

Lesson Format

Since there are so many lessons on the site, they created a page called “Core Learning System” so it’s easy to figure out where to get started:

Guitar Tricks Core System

Most people will want to start with Level 1 Guitar Fundamentals, but jumping ahead to the 2nd level will be fine if you’re an intermediate guitarist.

Either way, we recommend you make sure you have laid a solid foundation with Level 1 before taking Level 2 lessons.

After the fundamentals, you’ll be ready to dive into Rock, Blues & Country.

Don’t worry: if you’re looking for other genres, they also offer lessons for Acoustic, Metal, Classical, Surf, Jazz, Rockabilly, Funk, Bluegrass and World.

Every phase is focused around the videos, and they are all divided into easy-to-follow sections.

Update: They just released a DVD course that includes Guitar Fundamentals 1 & 2 and Blues 1 & 2 (562 lessons total), called Blues Learning System. It’s worth checking out if you prefer DVDs, CDs and workbooks to online lessons and you’re interested in Blues specifically.

Instructors

There are 45 total guitar instructors, 24 of which teach the majority of the video lessons.

Unlike some lessons we’ve tried, all of these instructors are talented musicians that know enough to teach.

Plus, they all come from different musical backgrounds, giving you a good variety to learn from.

Our personal favorites are Anders Mouridsen (Blues, Rock & Acoustic) and Douglas Showalter (Rock, Acoustic & Metal).

Gallery

Want a free sneak peek inside GuitarTricks.com? We took screenshots of our account to show you some of the highlights without even having to sign up for a free trial


Homepage

The screenshot below shows what you’ll see when you first log in to your Guitar Tricks account. It’s a little cluttered, but once you realize they’ve just broken it into the Core Learning System, genres, a video playlist and tutorials, it’s pretty easy to find your way around.

Guitar Tricks Homepage


Instructors

The Instructors page allows you to view lessons broken down by teacher in case you want to focus on everything your favorite pro has taught. If you find yourself learning really quickly due to one teacher’s style, try their other lessons before moving on to another from this page.

Guitar Tricks Instructors


Lesson

This is what the lessons page looks like. We like the “Previous” and “Next” arrows and sidebar navigation that make it really easy to figure out where you are in a series of lessons. Also, Guitar Tricks has a unique feature in their video player; you can select a portion of the video to loop and it will play repeatedly so you can focus on that once part to master it.

Guitar Tricks Lesson


Song List

The song lessons page has a long list of all the songs they’ve secured licenses with artists to teach to their members. They have gotten rights to give step-by-step lessons for songs from bands like Jimi Hendrix, Pearl Jam, B.B. King and Lynyrd Skynyrd.

Guitar Tricks Song List


Jamstation

The “Jam Station” is a learning tool with over 400 pre-made tracks to practice with. They really vary the styles of the track selection, but Blues definitely has the most since that’s the most popular genre people choose to while learning soloing techniques.

Guitar Tricks Jamstation


Guitar Tricks Review Conclusion

We have tried virtually every major guitar community and home study course online, and Guitar Tricks ranks 2nd with our rating algorithm, just barely behind JamPlay.

Here is a quick checklist to see if Guitar Tricks is the right option:

  • If you would prefer to try before you buy, they have a 14-day free trial
  • If you want more video lessons, Guitar Tricks has over 8,000 (they’re growing every week)
  • If you want to save $5/month, they only charge $14.95 for unlimited access

If you’re ready to take guitar lessons online, both communities have a lot to offer.

If you want to save money and still get a great value, then start your 14-day free trial of Guitar Tricks.

Hopefully we have helped you figure out which guitar lessons to invest in with our Guitar Tricks review.

Do you have a question about Guitar Tricks? Want to submit your own review? Please feel free to contact us and we can help you decide if Guitar Tricks is right for you.



25 Comments

  1. Mike Troutner
    August 22, 2012

    I was leaning toward Guitar Tricks and reading your review just helped me make up my mind to go with them. Thanks!

  2. Kyle
    August 23, 2012

    Hi Mike,

    Glad to hear the review helped!

    Enjoy your lessons,
    Kyle

  3. Robert
    October 4, 2012

    Thanks for the review!

    I’ll be joining Guitar Tricks! I like both Guitar Tricks and JamPlay, but I save $5 a month with Guitar Tricks. That’s a $60 a year savings.

  4. Kyle
    October 4, 2012

    Hi Robert,

    No problem man! Glad the review helped.

    To save even more money, be sure to keep an eye out for annual sales.

    Both sites offer steep discounts on their yearly memberships, and offer even better deals in the Winter.

    Have fun learning guitar!
    Kyle

  5. Gary Outwater
    October 26, 2012

    I have been a member of Guitar Tricks for over a year now and enjoy the detail lessons and song instructions. Before signing up, I knew lots of bits and pieces I learned from my books and CDs. Some licks I mastered while other we’re still intermediary at best. Guitar Trick’s online format helps me see, hear, watch, and “repeat” the specific nuances I was missing beforehand. One of the instructors selected one of my song choices and made the lesson for it – - so that was the best feedback anyone could ask for.

  6. Kyle
    October 26, 2012

    Thanks for the feedback Gary! We all appreciate your help.

    Have a great day,
    Kyle

  7. William
    November 27, 2012

    Hi. I just signed up for Guitar Tricks trial as well as the reduced first month membership of Jamplay.

    First impressions are that I really like GT better. The differences for me are that in GT the lessons are well organised, and presented in groups in an easy to follow sequence. This makes it easy to chart out a plan for improving your skils in a methodical way.

    Not so much with Jamplay where their introductory lessons are all a bit higglety-pigglety. You have to dig around to find a sensible course for one lesson following another.

    I also find GT’s chord chart to be an awful lot better than Jamplay’s.

    I am sure the quality of lessons will be the deciding factor for me over the next couple of weeks but full marks to GT for making learning a logical easily charted series of steps. Take note of this approach Jamplay.

  8. Kyle
    November 27, 2012

    Hi William,

    Thanks for the feedback! I’ve never heard the term “higglety-pigglety”, but I’ll use it from now on. :)

    Anyway, let us know how you like the quality of both lessons.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  9. William
    November 27, 2012

    Hi Kyle. A UK term no doubt :) Meant to say that here in the UK I also find Jamplay to be a bit slow on the connection whereas GT is not. Maybe it doesn’t cross the pond so well ;) Might just have been unlucky so far though

    Willie

  10. Kyle
    November 27, 2012

    Ahh, that makes sense. Nice, I’ll broaden my horizons a bit with that one then.

    That’s interesting. I know they have a Content Delivery Network with one in London, so you might indeed have just been unlucky with that so far.

    Feel free to come back and let us know your thoughts as you use both sites more.

    Take care,
    Kyle

  11. William
    December 11, 2012

    All righty, Here’s my update.. I’ve checked out both of them for a couple of weeks and decided to go with Jamplay. The main reason is that the JP lessons are simply better. Their site could learn some lessons from GT though. In particular the ability to bookmark lessons is missing from JP and the site tools are inferior to GT but the quality of the lessons is what eventually swayed it for me

    William

  12. Kyle
    December 11, 2012

    Thanks for coming back to give us an update William! Very helpful…

    Enjoy your lessons,
    Kyle

  13. dave
    February 21, 2013

    Hi everyone, just thought i would have my two cents :-)

    I have recently took up learning to play after spending a long time day dreaming about it. I have no other hobbies or talents which makes me so determined to see it through and not give up. After struggling to make a decision on which course to use, i decided to try all of the top 3 recommended.

    I have the Learn and Master Guitar package by gibson which i will continue to use. It is very good but does have a slight downside. The only fault i can pick with it is that it is mainly focused on reading music and right from the very begining, dont get me wrong …this is a vital step of the learning process but too much too soon does hinder your enthusiasm.

    So to try and sustain the fun i decided to check out the online courses even if only as a supplement to the gibson package. After trying both Guitartricks and Jamplay on trial, i definately favoured Guitartricks! The system layout is much more simpler and beginner friendly.

    For now i am going to continue using my gibson package along with guitar tricks as a multiple angle approach.

  14. Kyle
    February 21, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Dave!

    Great to hear you’re liking the lessons.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  15. Norm
    March 24, 2013

    I have an early background in classical from age 6-15 and pretty much stopped playing until I bought my first electric and amp at 54. My dream was being able to play the styles of Allman Bros, Johnny Winters, T-Bone Walker…. and Bossa Nova genre of Jobim and Toquinho. Fortunately I still have the basic chops which has enabled me to jump right into some great songs ex. quickly picking up the slide techniques of ‘Move it on Over’ (Anders is fantastic).

    GT allows me to dive in at my own pace and I regret not starting earlier. I only wish there was a greater selection of songs that really fit my preferred styles.

  16. Kyle
    March 25, 2013

    Hey Norm,

    That’s great man! Glad you’re having fun with it.

    Thanks for the feedback,
    Kyle

  17. Dave F
    June 18, 2013

    I’ve been trying the Gibson Learn and Master course for a while now (several months) and as stated above, it does concentrate at the start on reading music. While this is great for the long term, I feel that unless you have a high boredom threshold you will lose interest fairly fast. I recently switched to Guitar Tricks and it was like night and day for me. The core learning system moves at just the right pace, is easy to understand and holds your interest. Highly recommended.

  18. Kyle
    June 18, 2013

    Thanks for the feedback Dave!

  19. Erwin Jimenez
    June 18, 2013

    Yes the Gibson course is a litle bored, but is good if you want to read music, but I dont change Guitar Tricks is amaizing, and I have tried Jam Play, for me the two tops on line Guitar Lessons arte Guitar Tricks and Jam Play, I will keep both, on a full suscription base, $200.00 is nathing for all the benefit you can get on a year, so I love Guitar Tricks.!!!

  20. David N
    January 14, 2014

    Thanks for reviewing guitar tricks.com. I’m an absolute beginner and have been reviewing their web site. I came here to see what others think about using this system. One thing that’s not clear is regarding the Basic vs Full membership. Your review states that the free membership only lasts for 14 days, but on their web site they say that it never expires. So I’m confused. I was going to do the basic membership and work my way through some of the 24 free lessons, which would probably take me a month or two, before I put up the cash for the full membership. Am I not going to be able to do it that way??? Will the basic membership expire after only 14 days?

  21. Kyle
    January 14, 2014

    Great question, thanks!

    Sorry for the confusion…the Basic membership is just a small sample of their lessons, 24 like you mentioned.

    The 14-day trial allows you to try ALL of their lessons for free.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  22. David N
    January 14, 2014

    OK, thanks. So do you think that the Basic membership is still a good way to get a feel for the website and the lessons before making a total committment? I tend to go at things pretty slow and easy, so 14 days doesn’t really give me enough time to make a decision.

  23. Kyle
    January 15, 2014

    Hi David,

    Definitely! There’s nothing wrong with taking it slow and going through the free lessons first.

    Enjoy them, get as much from them as you can, then decide if the membership is right for you.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  24. Mark
    January 20, 2014

    I’ve been playing for over 30 years, but still feel the need to improve. I went with guitar tricks to go back over the fundamentals and learn some new songs. A very professional site, easy to navigate and a bunch of really, really talented instructors who really know how to teach too.

  25. Jarod
    January 22, 2014

    Thanks a lot for the reviews! I looked at Jam Play and Guitar Tricks and decided to go with Guitar Tricks. Lots of similarities, but one of the main reasons was they include amp and pedal instructions.

Post Comment