Check out my JamPlay review and watch a free video tour of my account.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vb4Em2gRVPw

 


Intro

JamPlay Review Screenshot of Member's AreaThinking of signing up for JamPlay, but worried about wasting your money? We have spent countless hours testing every online guitar lessons service, including JamPlay.com, to help you figure out which one is best for you.

Our personal tests (and tons of user feedback) have shown JamPlay to be a solid alternative to more expensive private guitar lessons because of their:

High-quality videos (4,400+ lessons), 24/7 support from 74 professional teachers, a killer tool set (tuner, chord library, scale library, games, quizzes, progress meters and jam tracks), and live lessons & webcam/chat sessions.

We’ll take you through the Pros & Cons, Lesson Format, Instructors, Tools, a free detailed Video walk through of our personal account, and more in the in-depth JamPlay review below…


Video Review

Want to see inside our account without having to pay? Watch our video JamPlay review below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vb4Em2gRVPw

If you like what you see in the video, and you’re ready to sign up, click here to get 25% OFF your first month, and have fun inside the JamPlay members area!


Features

JamPlay.com is one of the most feature-rich guitar lesson services we’ve reviewed. Here is a quick summary of the features you’ll get with a membership:

  • Learn from 80 professional guitar instructors (video lessons, forums, Q&A, and web chat)
  • Unlimited 24/7 access to all lessons, tools and the community forums
  • 5,000+ HD-quality video guitar lessons
  • Tools: Tuner, metronome, chord library, scale library, tabs, jam tracks and learning games
  • Live web cam lessons with private chat room Q&A
  • Friendly-formats: Web-based, printable and downloadable
  • All skill levels: Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced lessons
  • Learn songs: Step-by-step walkthrough videos of popular songs
  • Charts, tablature and photos of correct form for every chord
  • Live workshops with weekly practice routines and archives are up.
    These are MASSIVE and even the archives are insanely useful.
  • Complete retooling of the members area for easier navigation. Mobile-ready makes using the members area on the go a breeze!
  • 30 days risk-free. We’ve updated our money back guarantee to be 30 days instead of 7.

JamPlay TeachersMost guitarists learn to play from one teacher, which limits their growth to the skills, preferred genres and bias of that instructor. This also backfires when your teacher is in a bad mood, sick or just feeling lazy on the day of your lesson.

A JamPlay membership gives you access to 80 professional instructors with over 2,504 years of combined experience playing guitar, meaning you can tap into their wide array of skill sets, knowledge and time.

Each teacher is pre-screened by the JamPlay staff to ensure they not only can play extremely well, but they can break down the information to convey it clearly to even the newest of beginners.

That said, even the most advanced players can learn more from these talented guitarists.

Many of the instructors you’ll learn from make their living not only teaching guitar, but touring and selling albums as professional musicians, making them passionate about playing music. This means they’re excited to help you have fun becoming a better guitar player.


FAQ

Q: How much will this cost me?

A: -$19.95 for a monthly membership – $49.95 for a quarterly membership – $159 for a one year membership

Q: If I don’t like it, can I get my money back?

A: Yes. You have 30 days to try JamPlay. If you’re unsatisfied, contact them for a full refund, no questions asked.

Q: What If I want to stop paying for a membership?

A: Click one link in the members-area to cancel your subscription. If you want to re-join, that’s easy too.

Q: How does JamPlay.com compare to private lessons?

A: As opposed to learning from one person in 30-minute increments, and being forced to remember everything you’re taught, JamPlay’s video lessons allow you to learn at your own pace from 74 unique instructors. In other words, rewinding the video until you’ve mastered the lesson is incredibly helpful.

Q: How many lessons will I have access to with a membership?

A: JamPlay currently offers over 5,000 high-definition quality video lessons.

Q: How many instructors are there?

A: There are 80 instructors to help you improve your guitar playing at JamPlay.com, with more on the way.

Q: System requirements?

A: If you have a computer and an Internet connection, then you are good to go.

Q: How long does it take to take one lesson?

A: On average, their video lessons last about 16 minutes (ranging from 5-82 minutes each), but you can rewind as much or as little as you need to master the lesson.

Q: Is there a limit to how many lessons I can take each month?

A: Nope. You get unlimited access to all of the videos and tools, 24 hours/day.

Q: Can I learn actual songs with JamPlay?

A: Yes. They have spent ridiculous amounts of money to get licensing deals so they can film step-by-step videos teaching you popular songs on guitar. They won’t have every song you want to learn, but between the lessons and tabs, you’ll be able to play just about anything with enough practice.

Q: Can I get a discount to try it out?

A:  Click the deals button on the right to sign up now, or check out the mini-site we made about it.

To learn more, read their full frequently asked questions page.


Compare

Still not sure if JamPlay.com is right for you? Compare it to other popular options side-by-side:

If that’s not enough, here are a couple more solid guitar lessons you may like:


Properties

Guitar Lessons
Overall Rating

Our custom rating considers all of the guitar lessons' features, tools, quality, support, and personal & user reviews to save you time!

98.2/100 Rating
Rating: 98.2%
Price

The current price of guitar lessons (not including any coupon codes, trials or discounts we find for you.)

$19.95/month
Cost/Lesson

Price divided by total lessons. Note: For online lessons, we use the annual membership price.

$0.03 / Lesson
Coupons

We are constantly on the lookout for the best deals on guitar lessons, and this is where we share them with you. :)

Get 25% OFF
your 1st month!
Guarantee

The guarantee tells you how long you can try these guitar lessons and get a full refund of your money if it doesn't work out.

30-Day, 100%
Money Back
Lesson Format

Since guitar lessons are offered in many different formats, we classify each one we review to distinguish between them quickly (online lessons are our favorite).

Online Videos
& Community
Delivery

Delivery refers to how you will receive your guitar lessons and how long it will take to get access and start learning guitar.

Instant (Online)
Visit Site

This button takes you to the official website to check out their guitar lessons and get started.

Beginner

Does this product/service offer beginner guitar lessons? This is the most common level, crucial for getting started at any age.

Intermediate

Do they also have lessons beyond the beginner level? Once you've mastered the basics, you'll want intermediate lessons.

Advanced

Some teachers even have lessons designed for advanced players that have moved through beginner and intermediate lessons.

Song Lessons

Want to learn popular songs on the guitar? Some instructors work hard to get license deals to teach you specific songs step-by-step.

Video Quality

If these lessons offer video instruction (and we hope they do), this gives an idea of how well-filmed the videos are.

Extremely High
Lesson Length

Most private guitar teachers do 30 minute blocks, but some topics don't require that much time. This shows the range and average.

5-82 minutes
Average: 16 minutes
Total Lessons

Some courses out there have less than 50 lessons, which isn't much to build on. Look for at least 100 lessons, preferably over 1,000.

5,000+ Lessons
1,172 Hours
Instructors

One benefit of Online and DVD lessons is the ability to learn from multiple instructors with different backgrounds, genres and skills.

80 Teachers
Lesson Quality

Our personal rating for how well-made, organized and helpful these guitar lessons are overall.

99.7/100 Rating
Lesson Quality: 99.7%
Value for Price

Value for price is our way of comparing lesson quality, features, tools and support with the cost of these guitar lessons.

98.9/100 Rating
Value for Price: 98.9%
Ease of Use

How easy does the creator make their guitar lessons to use? Are the videos easy to follow? Are the tools helpful or too complex?

97.9/100 Rating
Ease of Use: 97.9%
Support

Support refers to how much help you will actually receive as a customer. Will the teacher(s) and students answer your questions?

98.3/100 Rating
Support: 98.3%
Lesson Variety

Variety is the spice of life. Don't get dragged into boring lessons that all follow the same formula. More lesson variety = more fun.

97.9/100 Rating
Lesson Variety: 97.9%
Entertainment

We personally evaluate each lesson for many logical ratings, but it's also important that you'll be entertained while learning.

99.4/100 Rating
Entertainment: 99.4%
Tuner

Will buying these lessons give you access to a free guitar tuner?

Chord Library

Chords are the building blocks of all guitar playing. Having a chord library where you can easily look up specific chords is essential.

Scale Library

Scales are great exercises and can expand your soloing horizons. Scale libraries organize them by key and style to save you time.

Guitar Tabs

Tabs are a great way to learn to play songs with notation that's easy to understand. Tabs + Video song lessons is your best bet.

Jam Tracks

Jamming is the one of the coolest things to do when you learn guitar, and jam tracks are the perfect way to practice first.

Live Lessons

The most efficient way to learn guitar is in-person live lessons. Some premium services offer live lessons through webcam & chat.

Forum

Forums are a great resource to get answers to your questions from instructors and other students quickly and easily.

Live Chat

Though getting answers on a forum can be really helpful, sometimes you need an answer in real-time, so chat is even better.

Printable

Every once in a while, it can be great to have print-friendly lessons when you need some material on a page in front of you.

Downloadable

Online lessons will sometimes give the option to download supplemental material for later.

Best Deal

We do not sell guitar lessons; we are a free guitar lessons review service. This link goes to JamPlay

Full Review

Summary
Rating: 98.2/100. We’re hard to please when it comes to guitar lessons, but JamPlay has very little to complain about. Of all the courses and online communities we’ve reviewed, JamPlay definitely gets our #1 rating.

Pros:
– Over 5000 HD video lessons
– 24/7 Access Online
– 80 Professional Instructors
– Great supplemental learning tools
– Active community forum
– New lessons added weekly (5 on average)
– Live web cam lessons and Q&A

-New for 2016/2017 Live workshops with weekly practice routines and archives are up.
These are MASSIVE and even the archives are insanely useful.

– Well organized lesson library
– Tuner, metronome, chord & scale libraries
– Lots of popular step-by-step song lessons

-30 days risk-free. We’ve updated our money back guarantee to be 30 days instead of 7.

-Complete retooling of the members area for easier navigation. Mobile-ready makes using the members area on the go a breeze!

Cons:

– Lesson access only with subscription
– Not the cheapest option available
– Some members would like more songs (added regularly)
– Computer and Internet connection required

JamPlay History

In 2006, JamPlay.com was created by three guys that are passionate about playing guitar and building the biggest & best members-only community for guitarists online.

Since it was founded, JamPlay has undergone many design and structural changes to help even the most inexperienced players easily navigate the members area.

The major advantage with this website over many others like it is the quality of the lessons, the instructors, the forum/community, the tools, and the website itself.

Lesson Format

Worried that you’ll feel overwhelmed with almost 5,000 lessons? Don’t be. Let’s break them down…

All of the lessons are really organized into four Phases:

Phase 1: Beginners
Phase 2: Genre & Skill Building
Phase 3: Learning Songs
Phase 4: Song Writing

We have talked with dozens of members in the forums, and this is one of the things that everyone seems to love about JamPlay.com.

Each phase is also broken down into simple sections:

Beginners
– Pick Acoustic or Electric guitar
– Choose Instructor with lessons for that type
– Take lessons in chronological order and record progress

Genre & Skill Building
– Pick Genre or Skills section
– Choose focus area (Blues or Rock, Lead or Songwriting)
– Go through series in chronological order

Learning Songs
– Pick a song you want to learn
– Watch the step-by-step video until you master it

Song Writing
– Foundation and theory of writing songs
– Expanding with more advanced techniques

This format is great for beginner, intermediate and advanced guitarists alike, because it allows them to take lessons in any order they want, but it still recommends an order chosen by the pros and tracks their progress.

Instructors

No matter how cool a lessons website is, the most important thing is the quality of instruction. Just like in school, a nice building can’t compete with great teachers.

This is why the founders of JamPlay strive to find excellent professional guitarists that want to teach others.

There are currently 80 well-qualified instructors, which means you won’t be limited to one person for support and learning.

One of the worst things a beginner can do is limit their knowledge to one genre, skill or song style.

Learning from 80 different teachers with a wide variety of backgrounds ensures members can conveniently learn from people who make a living playing guitar in genres such as:

  • RockJamPlay Genres
  • Blues
  • Jazz
  • Fingerstyle
  • Metal
  • Classical
  • Bluegrass
  • Country
  • Funk
  • Celtic
  • Hawaiian

These are all the genres in Phase 2 of the lessons you’ll find in the members area (most have 100’s of lessons each), and that doesn’t even include the skill building section!

Our favorite part of JamPlay.com is the support the instructors provide in the form of private messages, the forum, answers to questions on video lessons pages, and live web cam lessons 12 hours/day.

Tools

Another feature included with a membership is a custom-made tool set for guitarists. Of all the web-based lessons we’ve tested, the majority at least have basic tuners, metronomes, and chord charts. Here are the tools JamPlay offers:


Chords

When we first started playing guitar, we felt lucky to have chord chart posters in our bedrooms. Those lucky enough to be learning today get a dynamic, searchable chord library grouped by chord family! On top of that, you can save your favorite chords from the library or directly from lessons pages.

JamPlay Chord Library


Scales

Many musicians will tell you the fastest way to get better is to master a few commonly-used scales. They are great exercises, and really help to further your understanding of keys for improvising and soloing. JamPlay’s scale library makes learning scales easier with diagrams and videos of pros playing every note for you.

JamPlay Scale Library


Tuner

There’s nothing that breaks a beginner’s confidence more than people cringing when they play because their guitar is out of tune. It’s impossible to sound good out of tune no matter how good you are, so as a nice touch JamPlay added an interactive tuner to their site with every major tuning you’ll run across when learning songs.

JamPlay Guitar Tuner


Metronome

Simple but useful, the metronome has been used to help musicians keep time while practicing since the days of Bach and Beethoven, and with good reason: Keeping time is crucial when playing any instrument, and guitar is no exception. Select your tempo and an accent beat, click play, and get practicing.

JamPlay Metronome


Backing Tracks

A great way to improve your soloing skills is to play along with backing tracks, or “JamTracks” as they’re called at JamPlay. This, combined with their Riffs & Licks Library, makes for an awesome way to mimic practicing with others on your own so you don’t have to worry about messing up in front of other people.

JamPlay Backing Tracks


Games

Games are a unique offering with this website, and a proven method in education to improve retention with memory-intensive activities like playing guitar. These custom-built games are a fun way to challenge yourself and other members to help you remember music notation, the fretboard, specific notes and pitches.

JamPlay Games


At the request of many members (including ourselves), the guys at JamPlay made an iPhone app so we can watch lessons and use all of the tools above right on our phones, which is awesome. The tuner really comes in handy when you’re on the go, and the chord & scale libraries are great to have in your pocket.

Video Review of JamPlay.com

Screenshots not doing it for you?

See inside the members-only area RIGHT NOW in our detailed video review at the top of this page.

Is JamPlay for You?

In a word, probably. Whether you’re just getting started or you’ve been playing for years like us, JamPlay.com has a lot to offer if you want to take your guitar playing to the next level.

As our #1 rated option of all the guitar lessons we’ve bought and tested, JamPlay is a fantastic deal.

Here’s the link to get your coupon for 25%off your first month!

Conclusion to our JamPlay Review

We hope you enjoyed our detailed JamPlay review, and that our evaluation helped you figure out if it’s right for you.