Intro

Brett Manning's Singing Success ScreenshotThinking about improving your singing by investing in “Sing with Freedom” from Per Bristow? If so, then you’re probably wondering if it’s worth the cost.

We have purchased, thoroughly evaluated, and reviewed all of the most popular singing lessons online, and after months of in-depth research, our unbiased rating algorithm rated Per Bristow’s course 90.2%, which puts its rank at #2 overall, just a little behind Singing Success overall.

Read our full Sing with Freedom review below to walk through the pros and cons to see if it’s your best bet for singing lessons…

Disclosure: We will receive a commission if you buy Sing with Freedom through the links on our unbiased review. This does not affect the price or the opinions expressed in our review because we bought it, used it, and rated it with an impartial spreadsheet algorithm…but it does keep this site 100% ad-free, so thank you for your support!


Features

Here’s what you’ll get if you decide to purchase Sing with Freedom:

  • Digital or Physical course access
  • Online video streaming
  • Support by Forum and email
  • Complete course and advanced monthly option
  • 25 Lessons on Ear Training & Harmony
  • 25 Lessons on Rhythm
  • 22 Lessons on Sight Reading & Theory
  • 4 Lessons in Sing With Freedom course
  • 20 Audio Tracks
  • 3 Training Strategy articles
  • 3 Vocal Health articles
  • 4 Peak Performance articles
  • 2 Interviews with singing experts


Instructor

Per BristowPer Bristow is the creator of the “Bristow Voice Method”, The Singing Zone, and the Sing with Freedom course. He grew up in Sweden playing violin, and at 12 years old he was the youngest violinist ever to be invited to play with the symphony.

After switching his focus to sports for a while in his teens, he ended up finding that his true calling was music, so he jumped in and ended up landing major roles in musicals such as “Cats” and “West Side Story”.

Now, he now lives and teaches in Los Angeles, and has helped 10,000′s of singers from 102 countries to improve their voices.

Long story short: Per Bristow is a talented musician with serious street cred.


FAQ

Q: How much does Sing with Freedom cost?

A: The digital version is $147. For the physically-shipped DVD version, the price is $177.

Q: Is there a money-back guarantee?

A: Yes. You’ll have 30 days to try it out, and you can email support for a refund if you don’t think it’s worth the money.

Q: How does this course compare to private lessons?

A: Per does a great job as a teacher, and while it’s hard to truly replace the 1-on-1 attention private lessons provide, Sing with Freedom is a great alternative if you want to save money.

Q: How many lessons are included?

A: In total, there are 108 lessons in the course. If you decide to continue paying for The Singing Zone membership, there are more lessons added to your members area each month.

Q: What are the course’s system requirements?

A: For the digital version, you’ll just need an Internet connection, Flash player, and a PDF reader. For the physical course, a DVD player and a CD player are required.

Q: How long are the lessons?

A: Lesson length varies, but most are concise enough that you won’t have to set aside an hour or more to practice, which makes it more convenient to stay on track.


Compare

Here is a breakdown of the other popular courses we have reviewed for comparison:

  1. Singing Success - Rating: 96.4% – Price: $199.95 – Type: Audio, Video, Book & Forum
  2. Sing with Freedom - Rating: 90.2% – Price: $147 – Type: DVD & Books or Online
  3. Singorama - Rating: 82.4% – Price: $99.95 – Type: Audio, eBooks & Software
  4. Vocal Release - Rating: 73.5% – Price: $97 – Type: Audio & eBook


Properties

Singing Lessons
Overall Rating

Our custom rating considers all of the singing lessons' features, quality, support, and personal & user reviews to save you time!

/100 Rating
Rating: %
Price

The current price of singing lessons (not including any coupon codes, trials or discounts we find for you.)

$177.00 + S&H
Cost/Lesson

Price divided by total lessons. Note: We assume 12 full months of membership for online lessons.

$1.36 per Lesson
$11.31 per Session
Best Price

We are constantly on the lookout for the best deals on singing lessons, and this is where we share them with you. :)

$147.00
Guarantee

The guarantee tells you how long you can try these singing lessons and get a full refund of your money if it doesn't work out.

30-Day, 100%
Money Back
Visit Site

This button takes you to the official website to check out their singing lessons and get started.

Lesson Format

Since singing lessons are offered in many different formats, we classify each one we review to distinguish between them quickly.

Audio, Video,
Text & Forum
Delivery

Delivery refers to how you will receive your singing lessons and how long it will take to get access and start learning how to sing.

3-7 Days or
Online Access
Beginner

Does this product/service offer beginner singing lessons? This is the most common level, crucial for getting started at any age.

Intermediate

Do they also have lessons beyond the beginner level? Once you've mastered the basics, you'll want intermediate lessons.

Advanced

Some teachers even have lessons designed for advanced players that have moved through beginner and intermediate lessons.

Ear Training

A trained ear can be a very helpful skill to have you're when singing. Most courses offer ear training.

Video Quality

If these lessons offer video instruction (and we hope they do), this gives an idea of how well-filmed the videos are.

High
Lesson Length

Most private singing teachers do 30 minute blocks, but some topics don't require that much time. This shows the range and average.

1-7 minutes
Total Lessons

Some courses out there have less than 50 lessons, which isn't much to build on. Look for at least 100 lessons.

108 Lessons
13 Sessions
Lesson Quality

Our personal rating for how well-made, organized and helpful these singing lessons are overall.

96.7/100 Rating
Lesson Quality: 96.7%
Value for Price

Value for price is our way of comparing lesson quality, features, tools and support with the cost of these singing lessons.

97.2/100 Rating
Value for Price: 97.2%
Ease of Use

How easy does the creator make their singing lessons to use? Are the videos easy to follow? Are the tools helpful or too complex?

97.4/100 Rating
Ease of Use: 97.4%
Support

Support refers to how much help you will actually receive as a customer. Will the teacher(s) and students answer your questions?

93.8/100 Rating
Support: 93.8%
Entertainment

We personally evaluate each lesson for many logical ratings, but it's also important that you'll be entertained while learning.

88.6/100 Rating
Entertainment: 88.6%
Forum

Forums are a great resource to get answers to your questions from instructors and other students quickly and easily.

Private Q&A

Though getting public answers on a forum can be really helpful, sometimes asking a question privately is more helpful.

Printable

Every once in a while, it can be great to have print-friendly lessons when you need some material on a page in front of you.

Downloadable

Online lessons will sometimes give the option to download supplemental material for later.

Best Deal

To help you save money, we find deals and coupon codes for each of the singing lessons we review.

Full Review

Summary
Rating: 90.2/100. After trying the course for a couple months, we found Sing with Freedom to be a great choice to lay a strong foundation (especially for beginners), and recommend the digital version to save $30 and avoid shipping.

Pros:
- Online access (streaming videos)
- Affordable price for content
- Great teacher (was in Cats and West Side Story)
- Easy to follow course structure
- Very popular (75,000+ Facebook likes)
- Worldwide (Lessons taken in 102 countries)

Cons:
- Some lessons are a little dry
- Ongoing lessons require subscription
- Support could be better (forum and email)

History of Sing with Freedom

Per Bristow is the original creator of the “Bristow Voice Method”, a collection of techniques to help singers develop their voices beyond the voice itself.

The focus comes from his background in sports, specifically from when he hurt his back and realized the parallels between healing and learning something new.

This included concepts such as:

- How to enter the peak performance state
- Visualization techniques
- Muscular awareness
- Taking advantage of the least effort law
- How to utilize flow and rhythm

The connections he made while recovering from his back injury are what set the tone for his new method of teaching people to sing in a whole new way.

These concepts have the tendency to get into theory more than some students will like, but Per typically does a good job of bringing the theory into a practical strategy for improving your voice.

After creating the Bristow Voice Method, and teaching it to 1,000′s of singers, he decided to build on its results and reach more people with his refined teaching style.

So, he created the Sing with Freedom course, designed to apply the methods that had been working well his students (and for his own voice) in a well-organized course format.

Shortly thereafter, he quickly realized how many students wanted more content after they completed the course (sometimes more than once), which is how The Singing Zone came to be.

Lesson Format

We found the online members area to be pretty well structured, though it took a bit of getting used to at first.

The most confusing part was definitely how our trial of The Singing Zone seemed to be the biggest part of the course, but then we realized that as the weeks go by, we started to get access to more of the content.

This can be a bit confusing when you first sign in, but it’s nice that he’s trying to keep people from skipping ahead.

Here’s how the whole thing breaks down*:

- Ear Training/Harmony: 25 Lessons
- Rhythm School: 25 Lessons
- Sight Reading & Music Theory: 22 Lessons
- Sing with Freedom: 4 Lessons
- 20 Audio Tracks
- 3 Articles on Training Strategy
- 3 Articles on Vocal Health
- 4 Articles on Peak Performance
- 2 Expert Interviews

*Note: This is what the members area will look like when you take the free trial of The Singing Zone.

Now that we have had the chance to see what is included, we recommend checking the box for your free month so you can absorb as much as possible (and get the most bang for your buck).

You can always email them to cancel your trial before being charged the $67 for another month of access to the premium content.

Is Per Bristow’s “Sing with Freedom” for You?

To help you decide if Sing with Freedom is right for you, here are some questions to ask yourself:

  • Do you want to learn some theory to lay a strong foundation?
  • Would it help to have some conceptual lessons for motivation?
  • Is your goal to master the fundamentals of singing?
  • Are you willing to invest $147 to improve your voice?

If you answered yes to most of these questions, then Per Bristow’s course is a great fit for your learning style and goals.

If not (you want more focus on vocal exercises than theory), Singing Success might be a better option for you. Compare all the best courses side-by-side here.

Overall, Sing with Freedom is a fantastic course filled with over 100 lessons from a sensational singer, so you will definitely get a lot out of it.

Conclusion to our Sing with Freedom Review

We hope you enjoyed our Sing with Freedom review, and that our evaluation helped you figure out if it’s right for you.

Still not sure? Have a question about the course? Want to submit your own review? We’d love to hear from you!



22 Comments

  1. David
    April 10, 2012

    Can you tell me if Per Bristow’s course allows you to download the video content of the DVDs to your hard drive, if you choose the “digital online” version of the course? Your review doesn’t say anything about downloading. Per’s sight mentions “digital download” as an alternative to buying the DVDs, but no further details about it.

    Also, can you download the additional audio lessons – “Ear Training,” “Sight Reading,” “Rhythm School” Etc.?

    Finally, if you take the free 1 month “The Singing Zone” option, do you think there would be a problem cancelling before getting charged for additional months? I’ve heard horror stories of other “free trial” offers where it becomes a nightmare to try to cancel. I want to buy this course, but I cannot afford the additional $67 / month.

    Thanks in advance for any help with my decision.

  2. Kyle
    April 10, 2012

    Hi David,

    Great question! If you order the digital version, you will be given a link to a page to download the .MOV files.

    When I bought it, I decided to give the trial a shot, and their support is very responsive and nice, so canceling would not be an issue.

    Some of the lessons are in a file streaming format in the members area, so they’re meant to be played online. Still digital, but not downloaded to your computer.

    To get the best bang for your buck, you could do the free trial, download the core video lessons and supplemental content, save the articles, and take notes on any parts that are streaming only.

    The ongoing membership is a great value that compounds over time, but if you need to cancel that’s a great way to get a ton of content in the first month.

    I hope that helps!
    Kyle

  3. David
    April 11, 2012

    Hi Kyle,

    Thanks a lot for your speedy reply. You’ve answered my questions and now I’m strongly considering Per’s course. From viewing the free video, he seems like he’d be a great vocal coach!

    Cheers,

    David

  4. Lenora
    April 11, 2012

    If I order the actual DVD set, will I get the same great benefits? What I’m interested in is having a hardcopy for future reference, since I’m pretty sure I will not be able to afford the ongoing lessons. With this is mind, do you think I will still benefit from the program if I just take advantage of what they send me and any online access for the first 30 days?

    Thanks for your response.

  5. Kyle
    April 11, 2012

    Hi Lenora,

    Yes, that’s a good way to get the most bang for your buck if you would prefer the DVD version.

    Enjoy the course!
    Kyle

  6. Luis
    June 4, 2012

    Hi, Can I dowload this in my smartphone? or just in my computer

  7. Kyle
    June 4, 2012

    Hi Luis,

    They haven’t made a native mobile app (though I’m not sure if they’re planning to in the future), but you could still log in to the members area on your mobile browser to read the articles and watch videos that are compatible with your smartphone.

    Have a good day!
    Kyle

  8. kaitlynn
    October 19, 2012

    i love to sing im 11 and i want to be a singer when i grow up

  9. Kyle
    October 21, 2012

    Hi Kaitlynn,

    That’s awesome! Just keep at it and you’ll be a great singer.

    Thanks for the comment,
    Kyle

  10. Jeanne
    October 23, 2012

    If you only go for the singing with freedom package can you get enough out of it without continuing the subscription. I am a bit confused as to what you actually get for the 4 lessons.

  11. Kyle
    October 23, 2012

    Hi Jeanne,

    That’s a great question!

    Personally, I chose not to pay for the online subscription, but there’s a ton of content included with the course:

    13 Sessions (108 Lessons total)
    10+ Singing Articles
    2+ Expert Interviews

    I would recommend just trying the course first, and not doing the trial of the online membership at first.

    If you decide you want more content, you can always join after you’ve made your way through the course.

    Hope that helps!
    Kyle

  12. Frsncisco De Lemos
    December 13, 2012

    Hi Guys once a saw a package with lessons for 11 months worth of tuition and training for sale. do still have some thing that?
    I don’t at the moment commit to be online to follow through …

  13. Kyle
    December 13, 2012

    Hi Francisco,

    In that case, your best bet would be to go with the DVD package.

    This way, you can pay one time for a ton of material that will keep you busy for a long time.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  14. Nancy Handler
    December 24, 2012

    Hi,
    I’m 74 and every time I try to sing in my church choir I get hoarse. I have a lot of allergy issues and post nasal drip so this has been going on for years. I can sing on key but I have little volume and lots of throat clearing. Would this course help?
    Thanks
    Nancy

  15. Kyle
    December 24, 2012

    Hi Nancy,

    This course should a good choice for you, because Per addresses allergies and other conditions, and how to handle them to improve your singing.

    I would recommend contacting support here (click Contact at the bottom) about your particular situation to make sure they will have something to help with this.

    If they don’t, Singing Success might have some tips for you as well.

    Have a great day!
    Kyle

  16. Mathew
    January 4, 2013

    You mention the “best price” different than the published price, can you tell me how I can avail this ?

  17. Kyle
    January 4, 2013

    Hi Matthew,

    To get the best price, click through the link, click “Try the Program” at the top, then scroll down to choose the digital course option.

    Enjoy!
    Kyle

  18. Phil
    June 9, 2013

    Hi!
    I really would like to purchase the DVD set to improve my singing. The main things I am looking for it to help are my range, indurance, and achieving a natural sounding vibrato. Are these some of the things that the Sing With Freedom program achieves? I have taken some vocal lessons and I just feel like there is a big singer underneath that hasn’t been tapped into yet. Occasionally when I’m at home, I can do a slight vibrato. Can this set help me?

    Thanks,
    Phil

  19. Kyle
    June 10, 2013

    Hi Phil,

    In terms of increasing your range, and exercises to help with endurance, Singing Success puts a large focus on these things, so I would recommend checking it out for these goals.

    Per Bristow also covers many of these things, though you might want to check with their support team about achieving a natural vibrato. In my opinion, this could be achieved through the exercises and lessons in both courses, though it’s hard to say which course would help more with this.

    I hope that helps! Have a good day,
    Kyle

  20. Rick
    September 26, 2013

    Kyle,
    I have been a rock/pop professional singer for about 35 years. Not to brag, but I’m still pretty good; at least that’s what everyone tells me. The problem is that as I’ve gotten older my range has decreased, I used to be able to sing just about any “Journey” song with little effort. Wondering which course, Sing With Freedom or Singing Success would be more helpful for increasing my range to where it used to be?

  21. Kyle
    September 27, 2013

    Hi Rick,

    That’s awesome! Steve Perry was incredible, so that’s no small feat. :)

    They’re both great courses, but for increasing range I would recommend Singing Success.

    Have a good day,
    Kyle

  22. mark lame
    January 18, 2014

    I have both courses along with many other home courses. Per Bristow’s course’s exercises work better for me. I sound better, I don’t sing flat anymore. However, there is a lot more in the follow up lessons, (the singing zone subscription.) The actual musical sections( ear training, rhythm training etc. are too basic, but I have gotten a lot out of the other parts of the method.

Post Comment