Blues Learning System ScreenshotCreated by the Guitar Tricks team, the “Blues Learning System” is a physical course with DVDs, CDs and workbooks focused on fundamentals for the beginner and learning Blues guitar.

Of the 562 lessons included, 236 are fundamentals that will help any beginner, and the remaining 326 are focused solely on the Blues genre and play style. All of these lessons are included online for Guitar Tricks members, but this is a physical course for a one-time cost.

We have been members of Guitar Tricks for years, so we’re quite familiar with these lessons, and we’re hoping this review will you decide if the Blues Learning System will be a good investment for you or an aspiring blues guitarist you know.

Disclosure: We are compensated by some guitar lessons creators when our readers buy their products through our unbiased guitar lesson reviews. This is what keeps this site 100% ad-free, so thank you for your support!

Properties

Guitar Lessons
Overall Rating

Our custom rating considers all of the guitar lessons' features, tools, quality, support, and personal & user reviews to save you time!

95.8/100 Rating
Rating: 95.8%
Price

The current price of guitar lessons (not including any coupon codes, trials or discounts we find for you.)

$149 + S&H
Cost/Lesson

Price divided by total lessons. Note: For online lessons, we use the annual membership price.

$0.27 per lesson
Coupons

We are constantly on the lookout for the best deals on guitar lessons, and this is where we share them with you. :)

$100 off
Guarantee

The guarantee tells you how long you can try these guitar lessons and get a full refund of your money if it doesn't work out.

60-Day, 100%
Money Back
Lesson Format

Since guitar lessons are offered in many different formats, we classify each one we review to distinguish between them quickly (online lessons are our favorite).

DVDs, Workbook
CDs & Online
Delivery

Delivery refers to how you will receive your guitar lessons and how long it will take to get access and start learning guitar.

5-7 Days Shipped
& Online Access
Visit Site

This button takes you to the official website to check out their guitar lessons and get started.

Beginner

Does this product/service offer beginner guitar lessons? This is the most common level, crucial for getting started at any age.

Intermediate

Do they also have lessons beyond the beginner level? Once you've mastered the basics, you'll want intermediate lessons.

Advanced

Some teachers even have lessons designed for advanced players that have moved through beginner and intermediate lessons.

Song Lessons

Want to learn popular songs on the guitar? Some instructors work hard to get license deals to teach you specific songs step-by-step.

Video Quality

If these lessons offer video instruction (and we hope they do), this gives an idea of how well-filmed the videos are.

Very High
Lesson Length

Most private guitar teachers do 30 minute blocks, but some topics don't require that much time. This shows the range and average.

10-75 minutes
Total Lessons

Some courses out there have less than 50 lessons, which isn't much to build on. Look for at least 100 lessons, preferably over 1,000.

562 Lessons
5,000+ Online
Instructors

One benefit of Online and DVD lessons is the ability to learn from multiple instructors with different backgrounds, genres and skills.

3 Teachers
Lesson Quality

Our personal rating for how well-made, organized and helpful these guitar lessons are overall.

97.9/100 Rating
Lesson Quality: 97.9%
Value for Price

Value for price is our way of comparing lesson quality, features, tools and support with the cost of these guitar lessons.

99.3/100 Rating
Value for Price: 99.3%
Ease of Use

How easy does the creator make their guitar lessons to use? Are the videos easy to follow? Are the tools helpful or too complex?

96.8/100 Rating
Ease of Use: 96.8%
Support

Support refers to how much help you will actually receive as a customer. Will the teacher(s) and students answer your questions?

96.7/100 Rating
Support: 96.7%
Lesson Variety

Variety is the spice of life. Don't get dragged into boring lessons that all follow the same formula. More lesson variety = more fun.

99.6/100 Rating
Lesson Variety: 99.6%
Entertainment

We personally evaluate each lesson for many logical ratings, but it's also important that you'll be entertained while learning.

98.7/100 Rating
Entertainment: 98.7%
Tuner

Will buying these lessons give you access to a free guitar tuner?

Chord Library

Chords are the building blocks of all guitar playing. Having a chord library where you can easily look up specific chords is essential.

Scale Library

Scales are great exercises and can expand your soloing horizons. Scale libraries organize them by key and style to save you time.

Guitar Tabs

Tabs are a great way to learn to play songs with notation that's easy to understand. Tabs + Video song lessons is your best bet.

Jam Tracks

Jamming is the one of the coolest things to do when you learn guitar, and jam tracks are the perfect way to practice first.

Live Lessons

The most efficient way to learn guitar is in-person live lessons. Some premium services offer live lessons through webcam & chat.

Forum

Forums are a great resource to get answers to your questions from instructors and other students quickly and easily.

Live Chat

Though getting answers on a forum can be really helpful, sometimes you need an answer in real-time, so chat is even better.

Printable

Every once in a while, it can be great to have print-friendly lessons when you need some material on a page in front of you.

Downloadable

Online lessons will sometimes give the option to download supplemental material for later.

Best Deal

We do not sell guitar lessons; we are a free guitar lessons review service. This link goes to Blues Learning System

Full Review

Summary
Rating (full membership): 95.8/100. This course includes 236 core fundamental lessons and 326 Blues lessons in high-quality packaging with DVDs, CDs and workbooks.

Pros:
– 562 lessons (Blues & Fundamentals)
– High quality packaging and recording
– 3 professional teachers (Blues experience)
– 4 CDs with jam tracks for improving solos
– Workbooks for following along with lessons
– Comes with a 30-day free trial of Guitar Tricks
– Flat investment covering a lot of material
– DVDs include tabs, chord charts and lead scales
– Bonus: Download chord & scale finder, metronome & tuner

Cons:
– More expensive upfront than online membership
– On screen notation does not show music notes
– Only covers Blues genre

Course Format

The “Core Learning System” in Guitar Tricks is how every member gets started. It includes 236 video lessons on the basics every guitarist needs to get started, then dives deep into the 3 most popular genres: Blues, Country & Rock. Here’s what it looks like in the members area:

Guitar Tricks Core System

The Blues Learning System focuses on Blues of course, so they included the following in the course:

– Guitar Fundamentals 1: 69 Lessons
– Guitar Fundamentals 2: 167 Lessons
– Blues Style 1: 140 Lessons
– Blues Style 2: 186 Lessons
Total: 562 Lessons

Here are some of the concepts taught in each section…

Guitar Fundamentals 1: How to hold the guitar and pick, guitar parts and their functions, how to read tabs, frets and simple chords, note names, and switching chords.

Guitar Fundamentals 2: Scales & exercises, minor chords, chord changes, using scales to connect chords, music reading, learning simple songs, and barre chords.

Blues Style 1: 12 bar Blues, power & barre chords, minor & dominant with variations, rhythm and patterns, learning to play lead guitar, and equipment for blues.

Blues Style 2: Minor pentatonic scale, blues lead tips, the most popular blues scales, style of the “3 Kings”, regional Blues styles, and advanced techniques.

Instructors

The fundamentals sections are taught by one instructor, and are well-recorded and easy to follow for beginners.

One of the coolest parts about this course is that the Blues lessons are taught by 2 instructors that have a ton of Blues experience.

This adds more flavor and authenticity to the lessons, allowing you to dive into learning the blues from a talented teacher without having to pay $30-$50+ per session.

Blues Learning System or Guitar Tricks?

So this course is a good option for anyone looking to learn blues guitar, but the real question is whether to pay $149 upfront for this physical DVD course, or to join the online community for $15/month.

You will get the same content with both options, but many of the features (online tuner, metronome, community forum, etc.) are only included with the membership.

Personally, I prefer taking lessons online because of the convenience and low price, but it is nice having high-quality DVD courses and workbooks too.

If you or the person you’re buying lessons for is really into Blues specifically, you don’t want to pay a monthly fee, and you want a physical course, then Blues Learning System is your best bet.

If you want more tools and lessons, all online, then the full Guitar Tricks membership is a better choice for you.

The DVD course comes with a 30-day free trial of the online membership, but you can always sign up for a free trial of GuitarTricks.com to check everything out without having to pay.

Conclusion – Blues Learning System Review

Well, I hope this Blues Learning System review helped you decide if it’s right for you.

Let us know if you have any questions or if there’s anything else we can do to help out. Have fun learning guitar!